Austria [Map}; Map "A' annexed to the Agreement on Zones of Occupation in Austria of 9th July 1945 [with further initials and notations]

London [?]: European Advisory Commission, 1945. Presumed one of multiple original copies. Map. Map Format is approximately 25.5 inches by 19 inches. Folded in half and then several times so that there are 10 panes, not of uniform size. Map is on one side of the sheet only. Scale is 1:1,000,000. Left margin is approximately one half inch. Right margin is about one-eighth of an inch. Lower margin is approximately 3.5 inches and has substantial information on tows, canals, canal capacity, railways, and boundaries. The top margin is approximately 2 inches and has the scale and the word "Austria". The basic map, designated at SHAEF No. 36, was photolithographed by 13 M. R. S., R.E., in 1944. This version was prepared by P.H. P. Research (ink notation). A red line for Zones has been added in ink. Boundaries of the France, U.K., U.S.S. R., and the U.S.A. zones are in read. The boundaries of the city of Vienna is shown in red, with a blue outer circle. In the upper right corner is the following handwritten ink notation: "Map "A" annexed to the Agreement on Zones of Occupation in Austria of 9th July 1945". This is followed by several initial and the date of 9 vii 1945. This appears to be one of the maps prepared for the negotiations by the European Advisory Commission that met in London in 1945 and established the Zones of Occupation in Austria. The Allied occupation of Austria started on 27 April 1945 as a result of the Vienna Offensive and ended with the Austrian State Treaty on 27 July 1955. Subsequent to the Anschluss, Austria had generally been recognized as constituent part of Nazi Germany. In 1943 however, the Allies agreed in the Declaration of Moscow that Austria would instead be regarded as the first victim of Nazi aggression, and treated as a liberated and independent country after the war. In the immediate aftermath of World War II, Austria was divided into four occupation zones and jointly occupied by the United States, the Soviet Union, the United Kingdom, and France. Vienna was similarly subdivided but the central district was collectively administered by the Allied Control Council. On 9 July 1945 the Allies agreed on the borders of their occupation zones. Vorarlberg and North Tyrol were assigned to the French Zone; Salzburg and Upper Austria south of the Danube to the American Zone; East Tyrol, Carinthia, and Styria to the British Zone; and Burgenland, Lower Austria, and the Mühlviertel area of Upper Austria, north of the Danube, to the Soviet Zone. The French and American zones bordered those countries' zones in Germany, and the Soviet zone bordered future Warsaw Pact states. Vienna was divided among all four Allies. The historical center of Vienna was declared an international zone, in which occupation forces changed every month. Movement of occupation troops ("zone swap") continued until the end of July. For the purposes of occupation, Austria will be divided as follows into four zones, one of which will be allotted to each of the four Powers, and a special Vienna area which will be jointly occupied by armed forces of the four Powers : North-Eastern (Soviet) Zone (as shown on the annexed map "A". The province of Lower Austria with the exception of the City of Vienna, that part of the province of Upper Austria situated on the left bank of the Danube, and the province of Burgenland which existed prior to the Decree of 1st October, 1938, concerning boundary changes in Austria, will be occupied by armed forces of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics. The province of Salzburg and that part of the province of Upper Austria situated on the right bank of the Danube will be occupied by armed forces of the United States. The provinces of Tirol and Vorarlberg will be occupied by armed forces of the French Republic. The province of Carinthia, including Ost Tirol, and the province of Styria, except the area of the Burgenland as it existed before the Decree of 1st October, 1938, will be occupied by armed forces of the United Kingdom. Condition: Good.

Keywords: Military Occupation, Zones of Occupation, Austria, Vienna, Inter-Allied Governing Authority, French Zone, Soviet Zone, British Zone, American Zone

[Book #80557]

Price: $750.00